Customer photo: Mi Casa, Airstream trailer banner

12 Oct

A couple of years ago, when I was still a single mom, my daughter Bella, my dad and I took a road trip to Quartzite, Arizona.

A curious and wonderful thing happens in Quartzite. Every Spring, rock collectors, antique dealers and tourists flock to this tiny desert town just inside the California/Arizona border. Overnight, a small city of RV’s, campers and trailers forms. Vendors lay out their wares and peddle everything from depression-era glass to piles of deer antlers to giant African beads. Food trucks offer corn dogs, buffalo burgers, deep fried cheese curds and chili cheese nachos. Definitely not healthy fare, but whatever.

Anyway, my favorite part was the rock vendors. These passionate people hauled boulders (really!) and tons of rocks, gems, fossils and crystals in from around the world. They proudly stood by with a tub of water, eager to show you how to dunk a stone to bring out its true colors. Bella loved it all. It was fascinating to dig through piles of Minnesota pipestone and dunk them one at a time to bring out the flaws. We learned how to search for tiny cracks that would split a stone over time. We also found a few perfect pieces.

I loved the happy, fascinating rock people. Inspired by their friendliness, when I got home I drew my first original pattern that is not based on a traditional papel picado grid.

And, this week, a lovely customer sent me a photo of her sweet  ’57 Cardinal Trailer. She hung the banner at her campsite at a vintage trailer rally. What a cute setup and, seriously, how cool is that?! I want one.

I just love it when I get to see one of my banners ‘in action’. Thank you, dear customer. Happy camping!

This banner is available for purchase here.

One Response to “Customer photo: Mi Casa, Airstream trailer banner”

  1. Jen Haley December 4, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    love it!

Leave a Reply

